Happy New Year is a unique and bittersweet coming-of-age tale about ten year old Michael Cohen. Michael’s world is a confusing mix of Jewish tradition and secular society, a result of his father, Ben, “marrying out”.  When Michael realises a spelling test falls on Rosh Hashanah, his father’s Jewish heritage becomes an opportunity to skip class. Underneath this simple tale, Happy New Year tells a deeper, universal story about how identity confusion can lead a child to behave in unexpected and unusual ways.


Time: 10 mins


Produced by Sophia Ramcharan

Directed by Simon Dymond

Written By Dave Herman


Executive Producers- Judy Ironside & Michael Etherton


The Pears Short Film Fund Coordinator at UKJF - Asher Tlalim




Michael - Luca Sterling


Ben - Luke McGibney


Sophie - Rowan Scarborough


Judah - Jack Dewick


Daphna - Tina Harris


Teacher - Shelley Draper













School Children

Edward Flynn

Josh Smith

Jack Mitchell

Rhiannon Lewis

Cameron Jones

Mica Grant

Diontai Simpson

Tom Oldershaw

Lorik Deliu

Carter Pateman

Rachel Coates

Joel Wealthall

Isabel Milner

Phoebe Mann

Kiran Krishnakumar

Macaulee Bartram-Curtis

Demi Jo Parker

Nyrobi Beckett-Messam

Sophie Williams

Zion Morgan



Director of Photography - Karl Poyzer

Camera Operator – Karl Poyzer

Camera Operator - Joseph Maudsley

Camera Operator Dailies – Joseph Maudsley

1st Assistant Camera - Ola Mesmer

2nd Assistant Camera - Grant Murphy

Gaffer – Dave Bird

Spark -Josh Knott-Fayle

Editor - Silvia de Abreu

Camera Trainees

Kraig Winterbottom

Lucy Varney



1st Assistant Director - Chris Bevan


Location Sound Recordist - Grant Studart


Boom Operators

Gavin Gordon

Benjamin Hodge


Sound Design - Chris Cubitt

Composer – Tom O’Sullivan













Art Department

Art Director - Anya Kordecki

Make-up - Charlotte Price

Assistant– Victoria Collazos

Assistant - Lynn Bailey

Assistant – Ann Parker


Electronic Press Kit

Mike Saunders


Production Assistant

Ellie Wake



Alec Jordan

David Rattenbury

Todd Franklin

Matthew Bradford



Belinda Curtis


Special Thanks:

Liam Towndrow

Steve Deery

Diane Ashworth

Millicent Williams

Johnny Puszti

Ian Smith, Director, The Television Workshop

Norman Randall, The Nottingham Progressive Jewish Congregation

Broadway Cinema and Media Centre




Winner of The Pears Short Film Fund 2013. 

The UK Jewish Film Festival 2013 - Premiere

The Geneva International Jewish Film Festival 2014 - Official Selection

Amsterdam Shortcutz April 2014 - Film of the month

San Diego Jewish Film Festival 2015 - Official Selection

Happy New Year (2013)

Stella Vision Productions

© 2017 Stella Vision Productions Ltd.  All rights reserved.